DIY, Random Fun Stuff

The Jar of Smiles! | Only 1 Day left! #SpreadSmiles

Hi everyone! 

First of all I want to thank you all from the bottom of my heart for all of your support and lovely comments! It all really means a lot to me and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it. 

Also,can you believe that there is just one day left?! I certainly can’t! I think I’m kind of going to miss blogging everyday but hopefully my weekly blog posts will make up for it. 

To celebrate, I thought that I’d share a little DIY on how to stay positive and it also doubles as room decor! I actually found out about this quite a while ago and I loved the idea so much that I just had to share it with all of you. I decided to call it ‘The Jar of Smiles’,because whenever I look at it,I smile because I remember all the good things that have happened. 

Here’s how to make it! 


  • A Jar 
  • Coloured paper
  • A writing utensil 
  • Positive thoughts 😉

Every night,at the end of the day take a minute and think. Think about your day and then write down the most lovely thing or things that happened that day to make you feel happy. It could be as simple as ‘I borrowed a great book from the library’ to ‘I smiled at fifty people’ If it made you smile then just write it down. Don’t forget to include the date so that you can remember exactly when it happened. 



Then on a not-so-good day, you can take your Jar,open it up and read about all the lovely things that have happened to you and realize how blessed you are! 


I was feeling curious yesterday,so I opened up my Jar and read a few of the ‘smiles of the day’ and as I was reading it,I felt extremely happy because I remembered some lovely things and I think that this not only makes you think in a more optimistic way, but it also helps you relive some amazing moments and remember at least one great thing that happened each day. 

I do hope that you try this out because it is super easy and fun to make and fill. Not to mention the fact that it takes less than three minutes to assemble. Also it is very satisfying once you finish a jar and then you start another one, and the one that is full just makes you feel warm and fuzzy on the inside because you know that you have collected all of your happy memories, and can look back onto them whenever you wish. 

Are you going to try this out? Do you do something similar to this everyday? What do you think of this idea? Let me know in the comments! 



18 thoughts on “The Jar of Smiles! | Only 1 Day left! #SpreadSmiles”

Leave a Reply

