Books

Why I ADORED The Kite Runner! | Book Review  

Hi everyone!

First of all,I’m dreadfully sorry for my delay in publishing this post!! The holidays had just gotten super busy so I had barely any time to blog 😢😢 I’m really sorry about that! 

But now I’m back for good and I have got a TON of fun stuff planned  (I feel really organized now) Including some really fun DIYs and some book recommendations… *waggles eyebrows mysteriously* Oh! and a full post dedicated to my new friend-my bullet journal! 😉❤ I’m still trying to come up with a good name for her so if you have any ideas,comment them down below! 

Anyway, this post is a very exciting one because I’m finally reviewing the phenomenal literary masterpiece that is The Kite Runner.

A huge shoutout to the very lovely Mahriya for recommending this book to me,I had a blast reading it,thank you so much! 


So before I properly begin (get ready for a TON of fangirling!),I’ll just give you a quick little summary of the book if you haven’t read it yet.

The Kite Runner is an amazing story that mainly follows an Afghan boy called Amir and his closest friend and servant-Hassan.Amir is the son of a wealthy Kabul merchant, a member of the ruling caste of Pashtuns. Whereas Hassan, his servant and constant companion, is a Hazara, a despised and impoverished caste. Their uncommon bond is torn by Amir’s choice to abandon his friend amidst the increasing ethnic, religious, and political tensions of the dying years of the Afghan monarchy, wrenching them far apart. But so strong is the bond between the two boys that Amir journeys back to a distant world, to try to right past wrongs against the only true friend he ever had. (Source-Goodreads)

img_6509
I had very high expectations for the book and I was very excited to read it because all of the reviews on it were amazing, and so many people had recommended it to me that I couldn’t not read it. Luckily for me, my mum already had it so I could start reading it immediately. Thanks Mum! ❤

Even after that, when I started reading..I was still a bit surprised? But it was definitely a good surprised,the pace was just perfect and the amount of detail was also brilliantly done.There was never a dull moment. 

I had to keep on reading and reading once I started and I couldn’t bear to stop because I was hooked! I also had that enthralled feeling that you get when you read a really amazing book,which should have been a warning for me but I still shed a TON of tears when I was reading it,because it was just so moving and it affected my heart. *sobs*

IMG_6510

I have got to say that the characters in the book were very real. They had flaws and talents and you could actually empathize with them when they felt something which was AMAZING, and no matter how awful that the character’s actions were,you still pitied them. 

Amir is the main character in the book and like all characters, he has quite a few flaws but his biggest one made him betray his best friend  and haunted him for the rest of his life.

To be honest, I don’t really know how to feel about Amir..during some parts of the book,I wanted to cry because I felt so sorry for him and during other parts.. well… let’s just say he was DEFINITELY NOT my favourite person in the book.

THAT HONOUR was awarded to Hassan. Hassan in one word is simply AMAZING! He was literally the perfect friend; loyal, honest and caring. I was rooting for him throughout the book and after him Sohrab (of course). Hassan is a Hazara which made him the servant of wealthy Afghans like Baba and Amir. He was also uneducated but he still used love it when Amir made up stories for him and he really enjoyed spending time with him.

I have mixed feelings about Baba as well. Baba is the father of Amir and he was a very indecipherable chacter. During some points of the book, he can be the nicest person ever and during other points (especially when it came to his son) you want to get all of the rotten fruit and vegetables in the world and throw them at him.

Rahim Khan on the other hand was great! Rahim Khan was one of Baba’s closest friends and he knew all of his secrets (which were later revealed in the book). He was the one who empathized the most with Amir and looked upon him as another son and supported him when he needed it the most. You could say that he was kind of like his mentor or his God-father.

IMG_6511

My favourite parts in the book were all the ones when Hassan and Amir used to play together and of course the time when Amir made up his own story and narrated it to Hassan and when Hassan told him it was amazing which kickstarted Amir’s desire to write and make up stories. 

The kite running contest was also one of my favourite parts of the book, I love how close both of them are and how loyal Hassan is to Amir!! 

“For you a thousand times over”

ISN’T THAT BEAUTIFUL?!😍😍

But my favorite quote from the whole book (that made me shed a LOT of tears) would have to be this one :-

“There is a way to be good again”

I don’t think I had ever shed as many tears for this quote for any other book.

Ever.

I don’t know why but it was just my happiness and sadness for both Amir and Hassan and just all that had happened was overwhelming and this quote just set me off.

I’m still not over it though! *cries*

IMG_6512

Overall…  I would say that you definitely MUST read it if you haven’t already,because it a beautiful book about friendship,loyalty and hope and about knowing what is good and fighting for it. ❤

Also there a TON of AMAZING and very unexpected plot twists that will be thrown your way so if you are planning on reading it,get ready for an eventful journey! You will definitely not regret it because I LOVED it and I’m sure that you will too! Don’t forget to have a lot of tissues by your side! 

Rating- ❤❤❤❤❤❤

SIX OUT OF FIVE HEARTS ( because it was that amazing haha)😍😉

Have you read The Kite Runner? If so,did you love it as much as I did? If not,are you planning to read it? I do hope so! let me know what you thought in the comments down below!

The Comments of the Week go to….

Sithara!

 and…Daisy! 


Thank you all so so much for all of  your lovely comments!! I had a TON of fun reading them and replying to them and it was quite struggle to pick only two ❤  You are all seriously the best! 😊

Don’t forget to grab your free wallpaper over at The Quote Corner! I initially wanted it to be a quote from The Kite Runner, but then I figured that not everybody would have read it, so I decided to do a classic quote instead! I hope that you like it! 

Thank you so much for reading!


 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Why I ADORED The Kite Runner! | Book Review  ”

    1. I LOVE IT TOO!!! It really is an AMAZING,touching and profound book!! It’s definitely become one of my favorite reads!
      And thank you so so much!! I’m really glad that you enjoyed this review! ☺️❤ Those quotes are some of my favorites as well! 😍😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes,It’s AMAZING!! You simply MUST read it,I’m sure that you will love it! Mahriya recommended it to me too and I will never regret reading it haha…and yes! Those quotes are amazing and really sad as well! I can’t wait to find out what you think of it! Thank YOU so much for your lovely comment! ☺️❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh my gosh yes yes yes YES!!!!!!! THANK YOU for writing this!!!! I read this book 2 years ago and I had the exact same thoughts and like you, I too absolutely adored this masterpiece… So reading your review now was like reliving the book again… This is one of the books that I’ve shed most tears over too😭 But it was heartbreakingly beautiful…❤ And oh the quote… “For you a thousand times over” I literally teared up when I read that again 💔
    And thank you for including my comment in comments of the week!!❤😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG Thank YOU for your AMAZING comments!! I’m so so glad that you loved it as much as I did,I can’t wait to chat with you about your favorite parts of the book! 😍 And yes,that’s so true-It really was heartbreakingly beautiful! And yesss…I always feel like crying when I read that quote so I HAD to include it! 😭😍
      I’m beyond happy that you enjoyed the review-thank you so so much!! ☺️❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

